Chakras: What are they? And how do they work?



In very simple terms, Chakra, meaning “wheel circle”, are the centres in our bodies in which energy flows through. The concept of Chakras, sometimes spelled Cakra or Cakka, is notably found in the tantric traditions of Buddhism, Hinduism, and Jainism.

Along the midline of the body there are 7 chakras which run from where your reproductive organs can be found/the base of our tailbone, to the crown of your head. Each chakra corresponds to specific glands, organs, and facets of your being. A free flow of open energy between the 7 chakras can lead to better health: both emotionally, physically, and psychologically.

With that being said, chakras can become blocked, resulting in a significant impact on your entire energy system. Energy healing can help to open chakras and return the physical energy systems to better health.

Below I have detailed the 7 chakras located in the body, the colour associated with the chakra, and affirmations that can lead to the opening of a blocked chakra:


First Chakra: Root Chakra

  • Location: Genital area on the front of the body, base of the spine or tailbone at the back
  • Colour: Red
  • Description: Grounding force that connects us to the earth, responsible for sense of safety and security
  • Blocked: fearful, feeling of not belonging, difficulty letting go, lacking dreams and imagination, depression, lower back pain
  • Affirmation: I am a divine being of light, i am peaceful, protected, and secure

Second Chakra: Sacral Chakra

  • Location: Centre of the lower abdomen on the front of the body; between the root chakra and the navel, level of the lumbar vertebrae at the back
  • Colour: Orange
  • Description: Centre of our feelings and sensations, expression of our sensual and sexual desires, driving force for the enjoyment of life through many channels
  • Blocked: Co-dependency with people or substance that grants easy access to pleasure, feeling numb, overindulgence in fantasies, lack of sexual desire or satisfaction, feeling stuck
  • Affirmation: I am radiant, beautiful, strong, and enjoy a healthy and passionate life

Third Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Location: Just above the navel, below the centre breast bone on the front at the body; at the either thoracic vertebra of the back
  • Colour: Yellow
  • Description: Energy centre responsible for personal power, self-esteem, confidence
  • Blocked: Lack of confidence, lack of self-esteem, dominance, fatigue, allergies
  • Affirmation: I am positively empowered and successful in all my ventures

Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra

  • Location: Between the breasts, in the centre of the breastbone on the front of the body; first thoracic vertebra between and below the shoulder blades at the back
  • Colour: Green
  • Description: Balances the World of matter (lower chakras) with the World of Spirit (upper chakras), love, joy, inner peace
  • Blocked: Feelings of loneliness, lack of compassion, unhealthy relationships, lack of emotional fulfillment and difficulty accepting or giving love, asthma
  • Affirmation: I am love; I give and receive love effortlessly and unconditionally

Fifth Chakra: Throat Chakra

  • Location: Base of the neck at the hollow of the collarbone on the front of the body; spiral rooted between the third and fifth cervical vertebras at the back (opens towards the throat)
  • Colour: Blue
  • Description: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth, listening, purification
  • Blocked: Inability to communicate ideas, lack of self-expression, not speaking your truth, manipulative, inconsistent communication (too much or too little)
  • Affirmation: My thoughts are positive, and i always express myself truthfully and clearly

Sixth Chakra: Third Eye Chakra

  • Location: Just above and between the physical eyes; first cervical vertebra of the spine at the back
  • Colour: Purple/Bluish Purple
  • Description: Centre of intuition and foresight, openness, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions
  • Blocked: Lack of imagination, indecisiveness, lack of concentration, clouded intuition, overly reliant on logic and intellect, problems with vision, headaches, nightmares
  • Affirmation: I am tuned into the divine universal wisdom and always understand the true meaning of life situations

Seventh Chakra: Crown Chakra

  • Location: front and back location is at the top of the head
  • Colour: Purple
  • Description: Centre for trust, devotion, inspiration, happiness, positivity, deeper connection with ourselves and life force, inner and outer beauty, connection to spirituality, enlightenment, “nirvana”
  • Blocked: Impractical, difficulty finishing things, sense of meaninglessness, ungrounded, problems with cognition, mental illness
  • Affirmation: I am open and expanded

Although this is an overview, as defining what chakras are and how they operate can become very extensive, I encourage readers to try to practice these 7 affirmations daily to begin their energy healing.

It is through taking small steps in energy healing and beginning to open up the chakras in our body, that better health can be attained.

Thank you for reading – I hope you take the time to try one, if not all, of the affirmations suggested above.


Posted in

Leave a Comment